Captive paradise: a history of Hawaii

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Blackstone Audio, Inc. ,
Pub. Date:
2015.
Edition:
Unabridged.
Language:
English
Description

In the tradition of Nathaniel Philbrick and David McCullough comes the first full-scale narrative history of Hawaii, an epic tale of empire, industry, war, and culture.

The most recent state to join the union, Hawaii is the only one to have once been a royal kingdom. After its discovery by Captain Cook in the late eighteenth century, Hawaii was fought over by European powers determined to take advantage of its position as the crossroads of the Pacific. The arrival of the first missionaries marked the beginning of the struggle between a native culture with its ancient gods, sexual libertinism, and rites of human sacrifice and the rigid values of the Calvinists. While Hawaii's royal rulers adopted Christianity, they also fought to preserve their ancient ways. But the success of the ruthless American sugar barons sealed their fate, and in 1893 the American Marines overthrew Liliuokalani, the last queen of Hawaii.

Captive Paradise is the story of King Kamehameha I, the Conqueror, who unified the islands through terror and bloodshed but whose dynasty succumbed to inbreeding; of Gilded Age tycoons like Claus Spreckels, who brilliantly outmaneuvered his competitors; of firebrand Lorrin Thurston, who was determined that Hawaii be ruled by whites; of President McKinley, who presided over the eventual annexation of the islands. Not since James Michener's classic novel Hawaii has there been such a vibrant and compelling portrait of an extraordinary place and its people.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 78988537-be21-2daa-b61f-9c10a929e8b3
Grouping Title captive paradise a history of hawaii
Grouping Author haley james l
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-05-17 20:02:02PM
Last Indexed 2019-05-19 04:27:25AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Barrett, Joe, 1950-
author Haley, James L.,
author2-role Barrett, Joe,1950-narrator., hoopla digital.
author_display Haley, James L
detailed_location_boulder Online Hoopla Collection
display_description In the tradition of Nathaniel Philbrick and David McCullough comes the first full-scale narrative history of Hawaii, an epic tale of empire, industry, war, and culture. The most recent state to join the union, Hawaii is the only one to have once been a royal kingdom. After its discovery by Captain Cook in the late eighteenth century, Hawaii was fought over by European powers determined to take advantage of its position as the crossroads of the Pacific. The arrival of the first missionaries marked the beginning of the struggle between a native culture with its ancient gods, sexual libertinism, and rites of human sacrifice and the rigid values of the Calvinists. While Hawaii's royal rulers adopted Christianity, they also fought to preserve their ancient ways. But the success of the ruthless American sugar barons sealed their fate, and in 1893 the American Marines overthrew Liliuokalani, the last queen of Hawaii. Captive Paradise is the story of King Kamehameha I, the Conqueror, who unified the islands through terror and bloodshed but whose dynasty succumbed to inbreeding; of Gilded Age tycoons like Claus Spreckels, who brilliantly outmaneuvered his competitors; of firebrand Lorrin Thurston, who was determined that Hawaii be ruled by whites; of President McKinley, who presided over the eventual annexation of the islands. Not since James Michener's classic novel Hawaii has there been such a vibrant and compelling portrait of an extraordinary place and its people.
format_boulder eAudiobook
format_category_boulder Audio Books, eBook
id 78988537-be21-2daa-b61f-9c10a929e8b3
isbn 9781481526326
item_details hoopla:MWT11241273||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11241273||Available Online||||
itype_boulder
last_indexed 2019-05-19T10:27:25.984Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Unknown
literary_form_full Unknown
primary_isbn 9781481526326
publishDate 2015
record_details hoopla:MWT11241273|eAudiobook|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Blackstone Audio, Inc. ,|2015.|1 online resource (1 audio file (13hr., 32 min.)) : digital.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_boulder
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT11241273 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
subject_facet Hawaii -- Annexation to the United States, Hawaii -- History
title_display Captive paradise : a history of Hawaii
title_full Captive paradise : a history of Hawaii [electronic resource] / James L. Haley
title_short Captive paradise :
title_sub a history of Hawaii
topic_facet Annexation to the United States, History